Crock Pot Pineapple Cashew Chicken

Hi Love Doves,

Update in the life of Colleen: I graduated from Michigan State University on Saturday with a Bachelors of Science in Dietetics (woot woot!) Saying it feels good to be a college graduate is an understatement. Since then, I have moved back to Grand Rapids to, once again, share a roof with my loving parents while I complete my dietetic internship. The time when the letters “RDN” will appear behind my name is creeping closer and closer! So exciting.

me n kels

If I had to describe my life in one word, it would be “busy”. But you all already knew that from my continuous complaining venting about it. I know I am not the only one who is in a constant battle against the clock (but really, can’t we add just ONE more hour to the day??)

The other day, I really felt like doing something random and nice for my parents to show them I appreciate their gracious act of letting me return home. It was 8 am, I had an appointment at 11 and then had to head straight to work until 8:30 pm. To say the least, my options were limited. Then it hit me: The Crock Pot. Perfect!

The result? A sweet and salty dinner that took less than 10 minutes to prepare. Awesome, right? Another plus? You probably already have all of the ingredients right in your kitchen. You are welcome =]

100_1734

Pineapple Cashew Chicken
Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 can pineapple slices (reserve ¼ cup of juice)
1/3 cup cashews
2 tbsp teriyaki sauce
2 tbsp soy sauce
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp corn starch

Place the chicken breasts in the crock pot. Lay the pineapple slices on top of the chicken and in between if they overlap. Sprinkle cashews on top. In a small bowl combine pineapple juice, teriyaki sauce, soy sauce, brown sugar and corn starch to make the sauce. Once it is combined and a smooth consistency, pour over the chicken, pineapple and cashews. Turn the crock pot on low for  for 6-8 hours. 30 minutes prior to serving turn up to medium or high.

Nutrition info per servings (1 breast + 1/4 sauce & toppings)

Low sodium nutrition info

Boom. You’re done. Don’t ya just love crock pots? I do. People will think you slaved over the stove on this meal… but little do they know…. Don’t worry. Your secret is safe with me 😉

100_1733

