Low-Fat Carrot Cake Muffins With A Brown Sugar Pecan Streusel Topping

 

Since Sunday was Easter I felt obligated to make something of the carrot variety. My gut told me to go for a classic carrot cake, but my brain told me no. Why, you ask? Because the Kokx family has NO CONTROL when it comes to sweets. I am not exaggerating here. Bake a cake in the afternoon and it will be gone before sundown. 9 x 13 blueberry crisps are one serving, right?

That’s just the way my family rolls. See why I didn’t want a whole cake lying around?

I compromised by making low fat carrot cake muffins with a brown sugar pecan streusel topping. Our sweet tooth can be satisfied, we practice a little portion control, and not have our fat intakes be through the roof. Score, score and score.

IMG_0258

Low-Fat Carrot Cake Muffins with a Brown Sugar Pecan Streusel Topping
Yield: 18 muffins

Streusel Ingredients
3 tbsp whole wheat flour
1/3 cup pecans, chopped
¼ cup brown sugar
2 tbsp butter, melted
 
Muffin Ingredients
½ cup sugar
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 ½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp cloves
1 cup shredded carrot
½ cup maple syrup
½ cup apple sauce
2 eggs
1 jar carrot baby food
1 tsp vanilla

For the Streusel

Combine first 3 ingredients. Drizzle in the melted butter and mix. Mixture will be crumbly. Set aside.

For the Muffins

Preheat oven to 350. Combine sugar, flour, powder, soda, salt, cinnamon and cloves together. Add in shredded carrot, set aside. Beat together remaining ingredients in a large bowl. Stir flour mixture into wet ingredients, adding about ¼ of the mixture at a time. Spray a muffin pan with non-stick spray (Do not use liners, see below) Fill each cavity about 2/3 of the way full. Top the batter with about 1-2 tbsp of the streusel topping. Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_0261

Nutrition info per muffin

Nutrition info- 18 muffins

Note: Do not use paper liners when baking these muffins. Since they are low-fat the bottoms of the muffins WILL stick to the liners. I was a dummy and forgot this little piece of information. I was quite sad when I had to scrape some muffin off of the wrapper *tear* Skip the wrapper, even if you have really cute pattern ones like I did. You’ll thank me later.

Baking these muffins was really relaxing for me. This weekend was so jam-packed and stressful (not to mention I am sicker than a dog), I just needed some relaxation. Cooking has become sort of a moving meditation for me; it brings me peace of mind. I let myself work slowly on these and just enjoy the experience. It was bliss. Plus, I got to share my creations and spread the love with friends and family. How divine for everyone.

Happy hump day!

