Crab Egg Roll Make-over

I’ve said time and time again that my father is my ultimate food critic. He is a meat and potatoes, give me the full fat stuff, I just want it to taste good kinda guy. This being said, I know one of my recipes is a hit when he raves about it. And let me tell you, he did just that about this one.  Point for team healthy eating!

IMG_0246

Baked Crab Egg Rolls With a Sweet & Sour Dipping Sauce
Yield: 9 Egg rolls

Ingredients

9 Egg roll wrappers
2 cups asian blend vegetables (Like dole salad blends)
¼ cup water
1 ½ tbsp stir fry oil
2/3 cup chopped onion
1 tsp minced garlic
1 cup chopped crab meat
1 ½ tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp ground ginger
1 egg white
Non-stick cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 425. Place the vegetables in a microwave safe bowl and moisten with the water. Cover tightly with plastic wrap, poking holes to vent. Steam in the microwave for 5 minutes. Heat the oil in a sauce pan. Add the onion andgarlic. Cook until onions are translucent. Fold in the steamed vegetables, soy sauce, ginger and crab. Cook for an additional 2 minutes, folding continuously. Place the eggroll wraps on a diagonal (It will look like a diamond with one of the corners pointing to you) Place about ¼ cup of the mixture in the middle of the wrapper. Fold the bottom corner up over the mixture, fold in the two side corners. Brush the remaining corner (it will be the top corner, the one furthest from you) with the egg white. Roll up the egg roll (you will be rolling it away from you). Place it seam side down onto a lightly greased baking sheet. Repeat process with remaining wrappers and filling. Lightly spray the egg rolls with cooking spray and bake for 18-20 minutes.

Here is an image to help you with the folding if I was a little confusing!

 

egg roll how-to

For the sweet and sour sauce:

Ingredients

1/3 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp corn starch
¼ cup red wine vinegar
2 tbsp soy sauce
1/3 cup chicken broth
1 tbsp honey

In a small sauce pan mix together the sugar and corn starch (Don’t do this over heat…See below..) Once combined, add the remaining ingredients. Cook over medium heat until it starts to bubble, stirring continuously. Once it starts to bubble turn down the heat to low and cook for about 1 more minute while still stirring. Remove from heat and cool slightly

IMG_0239

Okay, funny story time. I was a dummy and going my usual pace of 100 miles an hour (typical) and screwed up my first batch of this sauce. I wasn’t thinking and I put the mixture of sugar and starch on the heat before I had the wet ingredients together. DON’T DO THIS! You WILL end up with a toffee-like, really hard to get off the bottom of the pan, sticky mess! Might I suggest you have all of the ingredients together before starting to prepare it and wait until everything is combined to heat it? Just a thought. Man, sometimes I wonder how I got through college… Blonde moment, anyone?

Om-nom-nom. These were pretty good. Ol’ Roberto (my father) loves to get a giant box of fried egg rolls from Costco. Delicious? Maybe. Nutritious? Definitely not. I feel like I have accomplished such a feat when I can make-over one of his go-to foods into a better for you version without sacrificing taste.

Needless to say, these bad boys will be making more appearances in the Kokx household.

Enjoy!

Nutrition Info: On the left is the facts per roll, the right is for 1.5 tbsp dipping sauce

Egg Roll NutritionSauce nutrition

