Joy and Overnight Oats

Today is pretty dreary… The skies are gray, rain is set at a constant drizzle and I am working 3 shifts in addition to attending classes…Sounds like my day would be pretty crummy, right? WRONG! I am just having the best day, I think that I am a large enough ray of sunshine today to make up for the Mother Nature.

Everything is starting to fall into place, and I could NOT be more thrilled. SO much progress has been made in my life…On what you ask? Well, let me tell you….

  •  finding a designer to re-design the site (yes, get ready!)
  • nearly finishing my presentation for the Michigan Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics spring conference (Nicole over at preventionRD.com is a GEM to work with! I am learning a lot from her.)
  • becoming a vendor at farmer’s markets (fresh, all-natural baked goods you can feel good about eating)
  • getting in touch with professional bakers to intern with to expand my skills
  • finding an artisan food swap to attend to see if I would like to participate in or possibly host
  • receiving the notification that I will not only be graduating in a month, but graduating with honors
  • I have actually found time to read for enjoyment (wait, what?!  Yes.)
  • my mind has been on creative over-load thinking of ideas for new recipes (whole-wheat sticky buns, anyone? Or can I interest you in some spicy shrimp tacos?)

I could go on and on… but I’ll spare you all of my endless ranting

Aaaah, this is such a refreshing change of pace from my usual stressed and anxiety filled days that seem to have been taking over for a little while there. **Sigh of relief** Hard work actually does pay off, folks.

Last night before I hit the hay (at an absurdly early time might I add) I decided that I wanted to have all of my things ready for the day ahead since I had to be to my first shift of the day at 6 am. I whipped up a nice batch of overnight oats so I could just grab the little glass jar in the morning and head out, rather than fuss with getting something else together. Here’s my recipe

IMG_0182

Overnight Oats
Yield: 1 large serving
Ingredients

½ cup uncooked oats (I used quick because it was what I had on hand)
1/3 cup non-fat greek yogurt (You could really use any flavor you like here, get creative!)
1/3 cup milk (I used homemade kefir milk, but you could do skim, almond, soy, etc etc.)
1 tbsp chia seeds
¼ tsp vanilla (optional)
1 tbsp maple syrup (optional)
Fruit for topping (optional)

The preparation is easy..are you ready? Mix it all together and refrigerate it over night.

Easy peasy lemon squeezy!

You can tweak this recipe in so many ways. The flavor of yogurt, milk, sweetener, fruit- the options are endless. Swirl in some almond butter, top with toasted nuts or coconut, maybe use chocolate milk? Let me know which variation you try!

IMG_0179

This is a refreshing new way to eat oatmeal. Even people who think they “don’t like oatmeal**Cough, my mother, cough** will consider it a hit.

Plus? No more excuse to say that you don’t have time to eat breakfast in the morning. Just grab and go!

