DIY Kefir

Greetings, friends!

So, a while ago I wrote a post about kefir. Nutritious and delicious! I tend to have a pretty sensitive digestive tract and let me tell you, this stuff is a miracle worker. Drinking it almost daily really does help! Don’t believe me? Try it for yourself. You won’t be able to say I was wrong, promise.

When I wrote that kefir post I got a lot of feedback asking me if I had ever made my own, but I regretfully had to say no. Right then I added it to the to-do list. Not only would it cut down on the added sugar, but it could save me money (and we all know how much I love to penny pinch!)

One of my wonderful co-workers, Amanda, mentioned that her mother loves kefir too and makes it herself. SCORE. (Quick shout out to all of my co-workers. They are pretty great, I am lucky!) This past weekend she gave me some kefir grains for me to make my own too. I was so excited, I am such a nerd.

Anywho, I have given it a try and 1. It is SUPER easy. 2. It is much lower in sugar 3. You can add it to ANYTHING. Lovin’ it.

IMG_0100

 

(The lighting kind of made it look yellow. I can assure you it is pure white! Hey now, I am still working on this whole food photography thing! It is so much harder than it looks.)

Kefir How-To

Place milk kefir grains in a glass jar (no metal!) with about 1 cup milk. Let the grains and milk sit in the jar with the lid on out of direct sunlight at room temp. You can let it sit for 12-36+ hours (after a few brews you will get the hang of how strong you like your kefir) When the curds cling to the side of the jar they are done. Stir the contents with a WOOD OR PLASTIC spoon. Strain the grains (I used coffee filters) and the liquid portion you drain out will be your kefir. Put your grains back into a glass jar with fresh milk. Repeat!

If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask!

Add this to oatmeal, smoothies, baked goods, or even add it into mashed potatoes (or mashed cauliflower!)

 

Happy Friday and have a wonderful weekend!

