A Little R & R

Rest and relaxation? Nah. I prefer recipes and recreation.

Alas! The long awaited holiday break has finally arrived. I, for one, could NOT be more excited.  I am aiming to finally catch up on all of the sleep that I missed this past semester (Thanks for that Macro- and Micro-Nutrients) Besides getting some shut-eye, I have a long list of crafty things to get started on, including a few knitting projects and some other pinterest-goodies.

I stopped at the library on my way home from work today (even though I get a break from school, employment doesn’t  work that way) to pick up some workout DVDs and good reads (I decided to be thrifty and save money by not getting a gym membership while I am home)  While I found some pretty good DVDs, I kind of lacked on the paperback front. I did find two that looked a little interesting, The Girl’s Guide to Love and Supper Clubs (this one is about a woman who launches an underground “supper club”– A supper club is an illegal, under the table restaurant run out of someones home, typically an off duty chef or novice cook) and Simply From Scratch (A newly widowed woman unexpectedly teams up with her mother-less 9 year old neighbor to win a dessert contest) These are your typical cheesy “beach reads“, but it is just what my mind needs after this past semester. I will let you know how they are when I am finished.

image

I went down the diet and nutrition aisle, of course, and all I could do was shake my head. There was an abundance of books with titles that promise you that they will make you skinny, lose those last 10 pounds with a “quick fix“, and one was even called something like “Good and Bad Foods“. This last one really ticked me off. Food is not black and white. It is all about balance [Insert my typical rant about moderation, etc. etc.] Maybe one day I’ll write my own tale of how to truly lead a healthy lifestyle.

Does anyone have any good suggestions for me? They don’t have to be about food!!! I am open to anything =]

I also started working on a new recipe (Yahooo!)  This one was inspired by my want for something warm and comforting  (It was a blizzard out there today!)  I made a Quinoa and Chicken Bake. The ingredients included quinoa, chicken breast, Greek yogurt, an egg, mushrooms, green beans, onion, spices and Parmesan and gruyere cheeses. I think it turned out pretty good. I am not going to post the recipe quite yet, because it still needs some work, but it is in the works, not to worry! I am thinking that some kind of a toasted nut topping (walnut or pecan?) would be a nice addition.

Quinoa chicken bake prior to the cheese addition

Quinoa chicken bake prior to the cheese addition

Quinoa-Chicken Bake

Quinoa-Chicken Bake

I had a little incident with the quinoa. I tried to make it in the microwave rather that over the stove, which I have never done. I don’t know what I did, I followed the directions of one part quinoa to two parts water, but let’s just say my microwave was a little messy lookin’. Oopsie!!

What are you looking forward to over the next few weeks?

