Light &Creamy Chicken Alfredo

One of my favorite things about fall is the food.

Pumpkin everything, squash is stocked to the ceiling, and there is nothing better than a crisp apple just plucked from the tree.

I have been craving spaghetti squash for…well…. months! I tried to get my hands on one in the spring (I know I know, OUT OF SEASON. But I was hoping they would magically have had one… they didn’t) but failed. Ever since then I have been keeping a close eye on the produce section. To my delight when I went on a little grocery shopping-spree (This is how dietitians do retail therapy.) there were loads.

One thing that really impresses me is when people cook without a recipe. No set guidelines or measurements. Just you, the ingredients and your gut. I have given a few feeble attempts at doing this (because I would really like to write my own cookbook/have a bakery and cafe one day), but not too many.  It is time to change that and get crackin’.

Today I decided to give an attempt at an Alfredo-style spaghetti squash. I have come across a few recipes like this on pinterest but haven’t liked them because they either call for something I don’t have on hand, too much cream, etc. etc. So here enters my rendition.

Light & Creamy Chicken Alfredo

image
Ingredients

1 medium spaghetti squash
1/2 tbsp margarine
2/3 cup non-fat plain greek yogurt
1/4 c skim milk
2 laughing cow light swiss cream cheese triangles
1/2 tsp garlic powder
2/3 c frozen mixed vegetables
1 small can mushrooms (stems & pieces is what I used)
1 can of canned chicken
2 tbsp Parmesan cheese

Start by pre-heating the oven to 350 degrees. Cut the squash in half length-wise and place face down on a rimmed cookie sheet. (I put a little water on to the pan to get some steam-action going to help with the softening of the squash). Bake that in the oven for about 45 minutes.

Towards the end of the 45 minutes you can start on the sauce. (It only takes about 15 minutes at most) Steam the frozen mixed veggies and set aside in a bowl. Add the mushrooms (drained) and the can of chicken and mix well. In a saucepan on the stove and melt the margarine, swiss cheese, greek yogurt and milk together. Once it is mixed together (The cheese didn’t melt all the way for me, so it is okay if there are a few lumps, it is just cheesey goodness.) Then add in the garlic powder and any other spices/herbs you might like.  Add the bowl of mushrooms, chicken and veggies to the saucepan.

Now you can take your cooked squash and use a fork to shred it up. It should fall right apart. Now split the sauce evenly between the two halves. You can top with some Parmesan cheese and pop them back in the oven until melted (only a few minutes)

Take out and chow down!

Nutrition Facts (per 1/2 recipe): 308 calories, 67 calories from fat, 7.4 g fat, 36.5 g carbs, 26.2 g protein

I am super happy with how this recipe turned out. It was mouth-watering and just as sinfully satisfying as a carbohydrate & fat filled version.

I used each half as an entree, but you could also do 4 appetizer/sides out of this recipe. The choice is yours.

Any other fall-time recipes I should try?

