Energizer Bunny

Hi Friends!

I found this little comic and thought it was quite funny and needed to be shared… 

ridiculously accurate, right?

Two days into the semester and I am B-E-A-T! The past two days I have gone NON-STOP between work, meetings and classes from 5:30am-7pm. Crazy!! I am pretty sure that in a future life I was the energizer bunny.

This semesters activities include the following….

  • Classes (Medical nutrition therapy, Macronutrients, micronutrients, and management)
  • Working 4 jobs (Lifeguard, spin instructor, fitness center nutritionist, and dietary assistant)
  • Being a teaching assistant for the community nutrition course
  • Fulfilling my Food and Nutrition Association Fundraising chair duties
  • Attending FNCE
  • Meeting with internship directors and working on applications, resume and personal statements
  • Maintaining a blog
  • Working toward my goal of running the Traverse City Marathon in May 2014
  • living 100% self-sufficient in my first apartment
  • Keep hold of my social life

I think that is it. Don’t take the list as me complaining…I love it all! I have this weird thing where I don’t know how to deal with free time so I always JAM my schedule.. But I wouldn’t have it any other way =] I am so pumped for everything that is to come and could not be more enthusiastic and POSITIVE that I chose the right career path for me. 

Here are a few snapshots of my little pad

Kitchen

Kitchen

image.

Pretty in pink

Photo: Birthday fun with Coweenie!(okay so this is obviously not my apartment… but  I just love this picture of the roommate and I!)

I know that a lot of you can relate to the whole crazy, nuts, hectic, *insert adjective of choice here* schedule thing. The best tip that I can give anyone about managing a crazy schedule is invest in a good planner..and, drum-roll…. FOOD! Yeah, yeah, yeah eat nutritious foods to give your body the energy it needs. You all know that drill. However, what a lot of people do not know (or are in denial about don’t believe) is that WHEN you eat is just as important as what.

DID YOU KNOW….. that when you go for a long period of time without eating (such as skipping that lunch-time-munch!!) your blood sugar take a nose-dive which can make you feel tired and fatigued? Or how about the fact that your metabolism goes into slow-mo and when you finally do eat your body won’t be able to break down food as quickly and you will actually store more food as fat.

I can not stress the importance enough of eating continuously throughout the day. No, I am not saying you should be whipping candy bars out of your purse every five minutes. I usually try to eat about at least every 3 hours, no more than 4.  It keeps my energy levels up, gives my metabolism a boost and provides my body with adequate nutrition. There is also the little perk that busting out a snack in class makes time seem to go much faster and make the sometimes gruelingly long lectures seem quicker…. hehe

MY ADVICE? At night think of the day that lies ahead. What, where and when do you have things planned? Will you have access to an adequate amount of food? Think about your day and pack food as necessary or plan our where you can grab a bite to eat. Planning out your days meals can also help with being more conscious with your eating. You are more likely to get more servings of fruits and vegetables if you PLAN to have them rather than leaving it up to when it is 10:30 am and you are starving so you grab the bag of chips because it is the closest thing to you… It is not as hard and daunting as it seems and actually takes a lot of stress off the next day when you don’t have to scramble to prepare lunch and dinner or worry about everyone hearing your stomach growl in the staff meeting…

Be sure to check back later for some of my own personal favorite on-the-go meals and snacks that are SUPER easy and take little to no prep work. And did I mention they are DELISH?

I leave you with a picture of a few WONDERFUL members of the FNA and myself at our booth during “sparticipation” (this is pretty much a show-case of campus groups for the underclassmen)

Photo: Thanks to everyone who came to visit us at Sparticipation! Looking forward to seeing you again at our FNA Open House September 4th 6:30-8:00pm at the BPS Atrium.(It was really really hot, okay?… don’t judge us…)

Sources

http://www.fitday.com/fitness-articles/nutrition/healthy-eating/3-reasons-skipping-meals-is-unhealthy.html#b

http://roannamartinwvudietetics.wordpress.com/2012/11/01/the-role-of-the-clinical-dietitian/

