Liquid Calories

I would like to introduce you all to a special someone.  This is my other-half Carley Kocks. Yes, my best friend has the same last name as me and her first starts with a C as well… Ironic…

Anywho… This lovely lady loyally reads my blog ramblings and gave me the idea of doing a post on a temptation most of us love… Starbucks.

I am not exactly a frequent flyer when it comes to the coffee house, mostly because I am too cheap. But every now and again I treat myself to a little splurge.

What a lot of people don’t realize is what exactly they are sipping on out of that little green straw. Coffee doesn’t have calories…right?? For the most part, the caloric content of brewed coffee is minimal, but that is most definitely not the case when you add things like cream, sugar, syrup, and the oh-so-sinfully-good whipped topping. Some of the drinks can have nearly HALF of your daily caloric intake… YIKES!

Take a look at these two  images.. one is of the most fat-filled beverages offered and the other gives some lighter options.

I was pretty sad to see the Java Chip Frap on the worst list, it is my favorite indulgence. However, I refuse to swear it off! Instead I opt for getting a skinny and splitting it with my mom and sister. Most of the time, you don’t need to drink the entire thing to get your fix, I find that splitting it gives you just the right amount without killing your healthy habits entirely.

What does making it a skinny do? Well….

Non-Fat Milk: This can save you  up to 120 calories and 15g of fat

Sugar-Free Syrup: Trim 20 calories and 5g of sugar PER pump (trust me.. usually it is NOT only one pump that they add!)

-Hold the whip: Sad, I know. But you will be glad you did when you cut 50-110 calories and 5-11g of fat

All-in-all, just be smart about what you order. We all deserve a treat from time to time. However, remember that it is just that, a TREAT! Your waist line with thank you I promise =]

Green logo used from 1987-2010, still being us...

Green logo used from 1987-2010, still being used as a secondary logo. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Suddenly my stale black coffee from the office coffee maker just doesn’t seem adequate….

Have a wonderful start to your week =]

Sources

http://www.starbucks.com/blog/how-to-skinny-your-beverage

http://shrinkingjeans.net/2012/05/10-starbucks-drinks-that-wont-blow-your-diet/

http://www.sodahead.com/living/do-you-go-out-of-your-way-for-exceptional-coffee/question-3794514/?link=ibaf&q=&imgurl=http://www.prepperpodcast.com/wp-content/uploads/zemanta/Starbucks-10-Worst-Chart-Revised.jpg

