Seeing Green

Hello, Folks!

Lately I have been on auto-pilot. Working 50-60 hour weeks with an additional 10-15 hours of training, and not to mention my less-than-thrilling economics class that is like pulling teeth to get me to study for. Needless to say, I feel less than my best. I have not been eating as nutritiously as I should be (a few white chocolate blueberry scones for example…tisk-tisk, but it happens, right? ), drinking an inhumane amount of caffeine and not getting enough shut eye. This week, before the third job really kicks into gear and Briggs pool finally opens to the public, I have decided to “detox” my body.

Now, detoxing means a lot of different things to different people. I am not one of those people who thinks that these crazy “detox’s” where you consume a scarily low amount of calories is healthy. It is really important to stick to the basics of nutrition and give your body the nourishment it needs (meaning never going under 1,200 calories without discussing it with your doctor!!…I’ll get off my soap box now…)

So, what does my detox consist of?

I am really just focusing on rejuvenating my body and giving it a little extra TLC. Diet-wise I am not restricting calories. This is not a weight-loss strategy, but a way to optimize well-being (always remember that!). I am sticking to whole-foods. So, this means lots of fruits, veggies, whole grains and legumes but no processed foods (i.e. no funky ingredients that your Great Grandmother wouldn’t recognize!). The vitamins, minerals and nutrients from these nutrient-dense foods should help me ward-off the lack-luster feeling I have gotten from all the sugary-goodness junk I have been eating. Now, add in LOTS of good ‘ol H 2 O and you’ve got your nutrition plan. Simple. Nothing crazy. Just good, wholesome foods that will provide you all of the energy, macro-and-micro nutrients, and tastiness you need!

As for exercise I am staying away from things that will exhaust my body further. I am incorporating things like lots of yoga,

yoga

yoga (Photo credit: GO INTERACTIVE WELLNESS)

stretching, walking and meditating.

I am being sure to not stress! (which can be a hard thing for me to to) I plan to lay in the sun and finish my cheesy beach read intellectual  book I am reading ( Where We Belong by Emily Griffin), go strawberry picking and hopefully make a large batch of jam.

Some people might not be happy with my definition of a “detox” because it does not include fasting, a crazy concoction of lemon juice, maple syrup and chili powder (Master Cleanse, anyone?) Basically, I just hope to gain a sense of re-grounding and sanity by going back to the basics. The goal is that after a few days of this my caffeine and sugar crashes will be a thing of the past and I will come out more balanced and rejuvenated. Sometimes, the best way to move forward in life is by taking a step back. 

I think I like that word better. “Rejuvination” rather than “Detox” (considering your liver and colon actually detoxify your body daily for you)

Here is a good recipe that I made a HUGE batch of last night. I used a mix of spinach, kale and romaine for the greens rather than just romaine and spinach. Talk about a power-smoothie! Plus, it tastes delish

The Glowing Green Smoothie

I also whipped up a batch of Lavender Infused water. I did 2 quarts of water to 2/3 cup lavender and added a little unprocessed stevia leaf. (Thanks again to Linda Snow over at Natural Elements for the idea and ingredients!) I plan to  experiment some more with different infusions.

Now it is your turn! Let me know what YOUR definition of a “detox” is. Have you ever done one? What kind of results did you see/feel in the end?

Source

http://kimberlysnyder.net/blog/ggs/

