Cookie Monster

I am a bake-aholic. There. I said it. I will also be the first to admit that  sometimes most of the time my love for baking is quite contradictory to my love for nutrition. Therefore, I get way too excited when I come across healthy recipes that taste delicious and can also scratch my itch for baking.

Baking my famous chocolate chip cookies. Can y...

Baking my famous chocolate chip cookies. Can you say “nom”? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This gem of a recipe was actually found by my mother (Kudos, Kris) and I am obsessed with it. These cookies have are a GREAT alternative to the typical ones that are loaded with fat and refined sugar. You don’t have to sacrifice taste with this healthier option. I made a batch for my boyfriend (who usually turns up his nose at some of my crazy concoctions) and later that night he told me how they were amazing and that he ate the whole batch. (Scoreboard= Colleen: 1, Joseph: 0)

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies

  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg*
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup quick cooking oats
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, raisins, or other dried fruit
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Beat together applesauce, butter and sugar. Beat in egg and vanilla. In a separate bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Add flour mixture into wet mixture and mix well.  Stir in oats, followed by the chocolate/raisins.  Drop by rounded teaspoons 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes.

*You can substitute 1 TBSP soy flour for the egg.  To make a vegan cookie, replace the butter with 2 Tbsp olive oil.

Nutrition Facts
Servings 36
Amount Per Serving
Calories 59
Calories from Fat 16
Total Fat 1.8g  3% DV
Saturated Fat 1.1g 6% DV
Trans Fat 0.0g
Cholesterol 7mg 2% DV
Sodium 95mg 4% DV
Total Carbohydrates 9.8g  3% DV
Sugars 5.6g
Protein  1.0g
Vitamin A 1% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 1% Iron 2%
 Note: Nutrition info is set for 3 dozen cookies

Source

http://www.thriftyjinxy.com/2013/02/cookies-for-breakfast-why-yes-whole.html

